Dec 01, 2021


The Eparchy of Tiruvalla was established as a suffragan see of the metropolitan see of Trivandrum by Pope Pius XI with the Apostolic Constitution “Christo Pastorum Principi” on 11 June 1932.  On 28 October 1978, Pope John Paul II erected the Eparchy of Bathery, bifurcating the Eparchy of Tiruvalla. Again on 15 January 2003 the Eparchy of Muvattupuzha was erected, bifurcating the Eparchy of Tiruvalla.

             On 14 May 2006, Moran Mor Cyril Baselios Catholicos erected the Metropolitan Province of Tiruvalla by bifurcating the Metropolitan Province of Trivandrum and raising Tiruvalla as an Archieparchy with the suffragan sees of Bathery and Muvattupuzha. The First Archbishop of the new province was Most Rev. Dr. Isaac Mar Cleemis. Most Rev. Dr. Thomas Mar Koorilos is the present Metropolitan Archbishop of the Province of Tiruvalla.